Coronavirus Update: Our team is here to help our clients and readers navigate these difficult times. Visit our Resources page now »

Skip to Main Content

Hospice Workers

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The certification or licensing requirements are determined by the medical specialty or professional career that you wish to pursue. Some associations provide hospice-related certification credentials. For example, the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine offers certification to physicians who specialize in hospice and palliative care, as well a certification credential for hospice medical directors. The National Association of Social Workers offers the advanced certified hospice and palliative social worker certification and other credentials. The Board of Chaplaincy Certification Inc., an affiliate of the Association of Professional Chaplains, offers the board certified chaplain and associate certified chaplain credentials. The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association offers seven certifications, including the certified hospice and palliative nurse, certified hospice and palliative nursing assistant, and certified hospice and palliative care administrator credentials. Finally, the National Association for Home Care and Hospice offers certification for home care and hospice executives. 

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions