Coronavirus Update: Our team is here to help our clients and readers navigate these difficult times. Visit our Resources page now »

Skip to Main Content

Home Explore Careers

Financial Institution Officers and Managers

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Certification is one way to show your commitment to the field, improve your skills, and increase your possibilities for advancement. Professional certification is available in specialized fields such as investment and credit management. Requirements for earning the designation chartered financial analyst, which is conferred by the CFA Institute, include having the educational background to be able to do master's level work, passing three levels of tests, and having four or more years of experience in the field. The National Association of Credit Management offers six levels of certification: credit business associate, certified credit and risk analyst, credit business fellow, certified credit executive, certified international credit professional, and international certified credit executive. The Association for Financial Professionals confers the certified treasury professional and the certified corporate financial planning and analysis professional designations. Applicants must pass an examination and have working experience in the field. The Global Academy of Finance and Management offers a variety of certification designations. Visit its Web site,, for a complete list and requirements.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.