Skip to Main Content

Court Reporters

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The National Court Reporters Association offers several certification credentials for its members. To receive the entry-level registered professional reporter certification, you must pass a written knowledge test and an online skills test. The registered merit reporter certification means you have passed an exam with speeds up to 260 words per minute. The registered diplomate reporter certification is obtained by passing a multiple-choice written knowledge test that focuses on three areas: technology, reporting practices, and professional practices. This certification shows that the court reporter has gained valuable professional knowledge and experience through years of reporting. The certified real-time reporter certification is given to reporters who have obtained the specialized skill of converting the spoken word into written word within seconds. Several other specialized certifications are available, including the certified realtime captioner and certified legal video specialist designations.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.