Skip to Main Content


Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

All 50 states and the District of Columbia require that chiropractors have graduated from an accredited Doctor of Chiropractic program and pass an examination to obtain a license to practice. The exams may be specific to the state or one administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners or both. Educational requirements and types of practice for which a chiropractor may be licensed vary from state to state. Some states will accept all or part of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' test given to fourth-year chiropractic students in place of a state exam. Most states require that chiropractors take continuing education courses each year to keep their licenses.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions