Skip to Main Content

Chief Financial Officers

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Many chief financial officers (CFOs) become certified. Several professional associations offer certification programs. Many CFOs earn the certified public accountant (CPA) designation. The Uniform CPA Examination, which is administered by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, is used by all states. Additional certifications are provided by the Association of Financial Professionals (certified treasury professional, certified corporate financial planning and analysis professional), CFA Institute (chartered financial analyst), and the Institute of Management Accountants (certified management accountant, certified in strategy and competitive analysis). Contact these organizations for more information.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions