Skip to Main Content

Aviation Safety Inspectors

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Certification requirements vary according to the position. For example, an aviation safety inspector working for the federal government in a position where he or she has to operate aircraft must have a commercial pilot certificate as well as a flight instructor certificate, both with single- and multi-engine land and instrument ratings. An aviation safety inspector in a position where he or she has to operate aircraft in the air carrier field must have an airline transport pilot certificate. A commercial pilot certificate with multi-engine land and instrument ratings, and eligibility for an airline transport pilot certificate will also suffice. Aviation safety inspectors in the area of manufacturing, working for the federal government at a GS-9 position or above, need an FAA mechanic certificate, with airframe and power plant ratings. All certificates must be current.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Featured Companies