Skip to Main Content

About United States Department of Homeland Security

The US Department of Homeland Security exists to keep America safe. Created in the wake of the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the department is devoted to keeping the US safe from natural and man-made disaster. Its activities include domestic nuclear detection, intelligence coordination, and protection of high-level government officials. The department's structure includes agencies for citizenship and immigration services, customs and border protection, emergency response and recovery (FEMA), and science and technology research. The US Department of Homeland Security has more than 240,000 employees and an annual budget of more than $55 billion.


The US Department of Homeland Security operates through about 14 divisions and departments. Some of the most well known include the Coast Guard, the United States Secret Service, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Citizenship and Immigration Services, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and the Transportation Security Administration.


The US Department of Homeland Security's strategy for protecting the country stretches across five main areas. Its ongoing mission is to prevent terrorism and enhance security; secure and manage the borders of the US; enforce and administer immigration laws; and protect and safeguard cyberspace. The company also administers relief to disasters, and it provides additional support to the nation's economic security.

United States Department of Homeland Security

245 Murray Ln SW
Washington, DC 20528-1002
Phone: 1 (202) 282-8000

Firm Stats

Employer Type: Privately Owned
Transportation Security Manager Coordina: Jonathan Grieme
Information Technology Project Manager: Derrick Joseph
Law Enforcement Liason Officer 1811: Angel Ortiz
Employees (This Location): 2,000
Employees (All Locations): 216,000

Major Office Locations

Washington, DC