Skip to Main Content

About United States Dept of Energy

It takes a lot of manpower to build a nation's economic and energy security. That's why there's the US Department of Energy (DOE). The DOE was established in 1977 by former president Jimmy Carter at a time when the US was facing a severe winter and fuel shortages that caused factory and school closings and threatened residential cutoffs. The DOE promotes a diverse supply of environmentally safe energy, supporting scientific and technological energy research. It protects the environment from the legacy of nuclear weapons production, and it maintains the Strategic Petroleum Reserve (SPR), an emergency fuel storage of oil that has an inventory of about 715 million barrels of oil.


The cabinet-level agency is a combination of more than 10 separate program offices. It focuses on the four major energy categories of coal, solar, smart grid, and battery technologies.

The DOE provides public services in fulfilling DOE's post-closure responsibilities and ensuring the future protection of human health and the environment. From providing calibration facilities to offering communications, educational, and outreach programs, it is dedicated to serving the public. It also offers property management, records management, and tribal collaboration services.

Geographic Reach

The DOE is headquartered in Washington DC. It has laboratories, operations offices, and power marketing administration around the US. In addition, it also has a laboratory in Alaska.


The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) will provide plans to provide up to $32 million for research to advance the development of sophisticated software for the chemical sciences. 

The effort aims to take advantage of the DOE national laboratories' rapidly advancing supercomputing capabilities, including emerging exascale systems capable of a billion-billion operations per second, to accelerate the discovery and development of chemical mechanisms for a wide variety of potential applications. 

In addition, the Department launched the Operational Technology (OT) Defender Fellowship. The OT Defender Fellowship program is a new collaboration with DOE's Idaho National Laboratory (INL) and the Foundation for Defense of Democracies' (FDD) Center for Cyber and Technology Innovation (CCTI) that will deepen the cybersecurity knowledge of key US front-line critical infrastructure defenders.

United States Dept of Energy

1000 Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20585-0001
Phone: 1 (202) 586-5000

Firm Stats

Employer Type: Privately Owned
Deputy CFO: Alison Doone
Secretary of Energy: Ernest J. Moniz
Deputy Secretary of Energy: Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall
Employees (This Location): 1,200
Employees (All Locations): 14,850

Major Office Locations

Washington, DC