Skip to Main Content

About Federal Communications Commission

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, cable, wire, cable, and the wireless spectrum. The Communications Act of 1934 established the FCC as an independent US government agency directly responsible to Congress. Its jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US possessions. The President appoints and the Senate confirms the five commissioners who direct the FCC; only three of them can belong to the same political party. The President also designates one of the commissioners to serve as chairperson. There are seven operating bureaus and 10 staff offices within the FCC.


The FCC is comprised of several bureaus, including the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau, Enforcement Bureau, International Bureau, Media Bureau, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau, and the Wireline Competition Bureau.

Its locations include the Office of Administrative Law Judges, Office of Communications Business Opportunities, Office of Engineering & Technology, Office of the General Counsel, Office of Inspector General, Office of Legislative Affairs, Office of the Managing Director, Office of Media Relations, Office of Strategic Planning & Policy Analysis, Office of Workplace Diversity, and the Secretary Office.

Federal Communications Commission

45 L St Ne
Washington, DC 20554-0001
Phone: 1 (202) 418-1925

Firm Stats

Employer Type: Privately Owned
Chief Economist: Babette Boliek
Secretary: Marlene H Dortch
Special Counsel: Riley Hollingsworth
Employees (This Location): 1,400
Employees (All Locations): 1,450

Major Office Locations

Washington, DC