Overall Student Rating
4.7 of 5 stars (21 Ratings)

Rating Breakdown

5 Stars (17)
4 Stars (4)
3 Stars (0)
2 Stars (0)
1 Star (0)
Attend this School? Submit a Review
< Click Stars to Rate
  • < Click Stars to Rate
  • < Very Dissatisfied
  • < Dissatisfied
  • < Netural
  • < Satisfied
  • < Very Satisfied
Start Your Review ...

Want to Review a Different School?


Submit a Review and Get 7 FREE DAYS of Vault Gold

Displaying 1-10 of 21 Student Reviews

Sorted by:

Excellen education surroudned by like-minded friendly classmates

5.0 of 5 stars

June 2018 | FORMER STUDENT

Uppers

Unquestionably the best three years of my life. My classmates and the social atmosphere truly made this experience what it was, but the coursework and teaching are superb. I would recommend UVA Law to anyone interested in going into the legal profession.

Downers

Very little negative to say about UVA Law - perhaps my only complaint was that career counseling seemed focused on helping those that already knew their path or on set paths, rather than helping students figure that out.

Comments

Charlottesville is a great place to spend three years and a great environment to help remove some of the stress of legal study.

Would You Recommend

Yes

Great School

5.0 of 5 stars

May 2018 | FORMER STUDENT

Uppers

Charlottesville is amazing place to live for few years. Excellent job placement.

Downers

No complaints, everything was great. Nitpicking, obviously Charlottesville is not a big city if that is your thing.

Comments

As advertised. Relatively collegial school with great prospects for graduates.

Would You Recommend

Yes

Virginia Law

5.0 of 5 stars

September 2017 | FORMER STUDENT

Uppers

Softball
Guest Speakers
Foxfields
Bowties
Popped collars
Famous professors
Charlottesville (!!)

Downers

course selection can be super important to beat the curve and is based on a lot of inside-baseball and not a lot of transparency

Comments

Definitely visit!! Virginia's campus is incredible and a major selling point - it's the only top law school outside a major metropolitan area which can be a major draw for a certain type of student.

Would You Recommend

Yes

Great place to begin your legal career

5.0 of 5 stars

January 2016 | FORMER STUDENT

Uppers

more laid back atmosphere than most top law schools; collegial culture; professors take an active interest in students

Downers

sometimes could be a bit too fratty; some class sizes were pretty big

Comments

Loved my experience at the school. Charlottesville is also a great college town in which to go to law school.

Would You Recommend

Yes

fratty

5.0 of 5 stars

September 2015 | CURRENT STUDENT

Uppers

smart people, super professors, good support, good social events, collegial atmosphere

Downers

fratty, too many men, it is relatively conservative, ugly school

Comments

Make sure you like to drink or have solid hobbies outside of the law school

Would You Recommend

Yes

Very Good

4.0 of 5 stars

July 2015 | CURRENT STUDENT

Uppers

Easy to make friends, Great professors, Accessible Career Services, The professors are accessible and very good teachers, career services is very accessible and knowledgeable and very willing to help, the school has an environment where it is very easy to make friends, spurred on by programs that help this, the scholarship opportunities are very good for those who get them.

Downers

Lots of negative publicity lately, ATL likes to write bad things about the school, Career services isn't the most clear on how to go about the job search unless you go talk to them one on one so it can feel overwhelming, tuition keeps rising, and I feel like there is inconsistent grading by different professors.

Comments

Charlottesville is a great city, good night life and lots of active stuff to do, I hear a low percentage of people get scholarships, building is kind of drab, the JAG school is right next door, which is cool.

Would You Recommend

Yes

Great law school, collegial atmosphere

5.0 of 5 stars

June 2015 | FORMER STUDENT

Uppers

It is a very collegial atmosphere which is strongly encouraged by the faculty, peer advisors and the administration in general. They are also very generous about providing scholarships to students. The school also has a very strong alumni base.

Downers

The school really needs to work on its diversity. It is much less diverse than other top schools, and does not have a strong community for liberal students.

Comments

It is a great school, but if you are a minority you need to understand that UVA has not done the best job at fostering a great environment for you.

Would You Recommend

Yes

All the Trappings of a Top School With a High Quality of Life

5.0 of 5 stars

April 2015 | FORMER STUDENT

Uppers

Charlottesville. Excellent professors. The hilarious Libel Show. The collegiality of the students. The jobs students recieve

Downers

The "North Ground Softball League" attitude (held my a small number of students). The lack of interaction with other graduate programs.

Comments

UVa Law is an exception place to get a legal education. The students are smart, but not so competitive that the atmosphere is unpleasant. You have all the exit opportunities into firms, the government, or clerkships that you could want but get there by spending three awesome years in Charlottesville.

Would You Recommend

Yes

5.0 of 5 stars

2010 | VERIFIED STUDENT

Academics

The professors are phenomenal, and extremely accessible. I have found that there are definitely more classes that I want to take than time to take them! The school offers fantastic clinical programs as well, and there are a great number of clubs and organizations for legal and non-legal oriented activities. There are some great dual degree and study abroad programs. While the students are competitive, the atmosphere still remains very collegial.

Quality of Life

Friendly, social, great campus. I would not recommend another law school for people who want to obtain a difficult degree in a collegial environment.

Admissions

The application to UVA is similar to that of many other law schools; it requires the same general essay and documents. I found, however, that the school was more responsive than most to helping me determine a financial aid package, and I was able to obtain a good scholarship as well.

Level

2

Graduation Year

2011

4.8 of 5 stars

2010 | VERIFIED STUDENT

Quality of Life

QOL is amazing at UVA. Cost of living is reasonable, grounds are gorgeous and safe, and weather generally is nice. People genuinely seem to be happy here. You couldn't pick a better place to spend 3 years than Charlottesville and UVA Law.

Level

2

Graduation Year

2011

Select Page: